New items and cleaned parts. Assembly starts at post #98

• I could not stand to have the Sling parked for that long.

• Taking a break. Have the seats, trim panels and dash removed. Battery disconnected.

Supposed get some light snow here tomorrow and be cooler this week - so won't mind if it is down for the week.

Also, I want to take my time. Plus, when you remove these panels, there is a lot of dirt to clean and wipe up!

Starting on the install in 30 minutes.

• Ok. Everything is connected and working.

However, when volume is turned all the way down, I have a fairly loud hiss - no matter the audio source.

Would this suggest I have a bad ground?

If not, suggestions of what might be causing the hiss.

Second, while I have everything apart, I think I need to add a sub. Sounds good by it is missing the low end.

I was thinking about powered subs - any suggestions? I don't want to give up a cubby behind the seat.

Thanks.

• I'm no expert, but with I installed my amp, it said to turn down all my gains and slowly turn them up for the best sound. With the volume up all the way, start to turn the gains up just until you hear a hiss. The pros will step up shortly and take care of you.

• Where did you ground the amp? This could be an issue, but likely not.

A hiss is somewhat common with a decent head unit and can even be compounded with upgraded speakers. What you may be hearing are the extremely high frequencies that the crappy stock head unit and speakers weren't really capable of reproducing. Chances are nothing is wrong with your wiring or the head unit itself. As long as you aren't hearing the hiss at any reasonable volume that is your answer, as crazy as it may seem... turn the head unit volume up or hit the mute key. No real reason to have the volume at 1 or 2 anyways.

• Thanks for the replies.

I have a JL amp and the Clarion head unit.

I had the gain all the way up on the amp for all three channels and the hiss was fairly strong.