Parking Brake Won't Release

• Had this issue for over a year and I've been to the dealer who looked at it and said I needed to replace the entire hardware in the rear wheel, which was way overkill because it includes the brakes and all. They wanted something like $800 for it! They even agreed it's way overpriced but nothing they could do on price...

I've just not been using the parking brake at all. If I try and push the brake handle down from the driver's seat, it pops back up on me because it won't release. I've tried WD-40 on the brake's spring in the rear wheel and didn't help, figuring it was getting stuck. I'm pretty sure all I need is that spring as it's not enough spring in it to release the mechanism, but not entirely sure. I've played with it countless times and only way I can get it to release is to hit the release with something so it disengages.

If I loosen the nut back there, it just loses tension and doesn't help. I have no experience with parking brakes but it's not all that complicated. Just would like to have a brake and not worry about parking on a hill and the gear becoming disengaged from someone when I'm not there.

Unsure what I could except maybe posting if anyone has a junked sling that would sell me that spring.

See pic for what I mean. It's not mine, just an image I found.

• What model year are you riding?

Chances are spring is fine.

I would lean more toward a binding in the brake cable sheathing.

Or E-brake adjustment required.

Loss of tension in the parking brake cable will cause

illumination of the parking brake indicator. If parking

brake cable is too long, then handle will not return to full down position and parking brake light will stay

illuminated.

1. Pull up on the parking brake lever.

2. After 2 clicks, the parking brake light should display

on the instrument cluster. After 8 clicks, the rear

wheel of the vehicle should not rotate when turning by

hand. After 10 full clicks of lever travel, the vehicle