Wheel Bearing Noise

• Hello all, I am new to the slingshot. I bought from an individual two moths ago and all of the recall work done then. Just as of late I have heard some wheel bearing noise 'click' at random times. From what I'm reading the belt could be a little tight after the recall work. My question. What and how tight should my belt be? I'm a big guy and ride two up mostly. I have read the reviews and feel confident on how to adjust the the belt but How Much should I loosen it? Any and all help is appreciated ! Thanks in advance!

• Hello all, I am new to the slingshot. I bought from an individual two moths ago and all of the recall work done then. Just as of late I have heard some wheel bearing noise 'click' at random times. From what I'm reading the belt could be a little tight after the recall work. My question. What and how tight should my belt be? I'm a big guy and ride two up mostly. I have read the reviews and feel confident on how to adjust the the belt but How Much should I loosen it? Any and all help is appreciated ! Thanks in advance!

Hi Nick! Congrats on your purchase & welcome to the best forum of ANY kind, much less for Slingshots.

The factory spec for belt tension (per the service manual) is 0.63” of deflection (with 10 lb of force applied) - however, we all agree this is just too tight (creating unnecessary wear on the cheesy rear axle needle bearing). I mostly ride solo & have mine set at 1” & it seems to work real well. With you being a big guy & mostly riding two up, try 1.5” of deflection at 10 lbs & see how that works out for ya’. This is just my humble opinion & you may get some different answers but I feel this would be a great starting point & pretty much get you in the ballpark for your needs. Take care, ride safe, have fun, God bless, good luck & Sling on!

Slingshots: making children out of adults since 2014

• ^^^^ Such a proper first impression :whistling: ....

Just wait until you get to know him... :saint: